Beautiful Disaster/ Walking Disaster by Jamie Mcguire

 

 

Travis Maddox is the main reason why I created this blog.

I’M ABSOLUTELY IN LOVE WITH TRAVIS.

I am a hopeless romantic and the bad boy-good girl story left me hooked up to the point of reading it in just a couple of hours.

I think that what make this book so attractive are the chemistry and the differences between the main characters. Travis was the popular guy that attracted every known girl in school. He never had a real interest for anyone in particular, and slept with the whole world just for fun and boredom. He participates in clandestine fights to make money and because he was pretty good at it. Abby was a normal shy girl, who was escaping from her past and wanted to go unnoticed due to bad publicity when she took her dad’s luck in poker when she was thirteen. The emotional collision between the two of them was something I was so ready to see.

I knew the second I met you
that there was something about you I needed. Turns out it
wasn’t something about you at all. It was just you.

I felt for Travis pretty much at the second he appeared on the scene. I think I felt in love with Travis not only for his smockin’ hot body full of tattoos and for his perfect sense of humor, but also because of all the changes that he made in his life all because the girl of his dreams showed up in his life. I really liked the nickname right away, it immediately makes her someone special, and I love that. I also love the fact that he wanted to make all the right things just to be with her. And how thrilled he was when he finally won the bet, making her stay at his place. He is just so caring and thoughtful, even though Abby didn’t notice those details, or didn’t want to. The way he talked just melted my heart, I wish I have a man like Travis waiting for me. I really wish.

I don’t want to sleep with you, Pidge. I like you too much.

The only problem that it comes to Beautiful Disaster is Abby. There were SO many times that I truly wanted to punch her in the face. She was so damn confusing, and made horrible decisions. You just have to be straight stupid to not realize that Travis was in love with her, but she kept continue playing dumb. I don’t know also how she could start to seeing this other guy, while she was living with Travis. I know she didn’t want to fell in love with someone that reminded her so much about her past, but you just can’t force your feelings. I mean, how naïve you have to be to continue pretending that nothing was going on between the two of them, and there were not feelings involved? Pretty naïve, I must say.

Of all the worst ideas that Abby could come up with to escape from the bet, she just picked the worst. First of all, how could you sleep with Travis knowing that he is deeply in love with you (yes, you knew it) and pretend there’s nothing wrong with that? Second, how could you lose your virginity just to make someone else happy? There is something truly wrong about that. The moments after the “break-up” were terrible. But I was kind of happy that Abby was finally realizing all the stupid things that she did.

“Wait. You’re mad?”
I yanked my coat from his grip. “You know…I don’t even know why I’m surprised.”
His eyebrows pulled in. “I can’t win with you. I can’t win with you! You say you’re done…I’m fucking miserable over here! I had to break my phone into a million pieces to keep from calling you every minute of the damn day-I’ve had to play it off like everything is just fine at school so you can be happy…and you’re fucking mad at me? You broke my fuckin’ heart!” His last words echoed into the night.”

When they get together, it all made complete sense, like they were meant to be. I love them as a couple, and how protective they are with each other. I really wanted to be her, without the stupidity though.

The whole theme of the fights was truly splendid. I think it added some nice ingredient to the story. I could definitely picture Travis “Mad Dog” Maddox in the ring, although I wouldn’t want to see him getting hurt. Not only the main characters were excellent, but also the secondary ones were great. America and Shepley are the friends that everyone would like to have. One of the things that I really liked in the story was the fact that Abby was the one that ended up accepted by the family of Travis, when the regular case is the other way around. I loved Travis’s dad, and their brothers are simply great. How awesome must be to be accepting in one amazing family like he has. On the other hand, it was hard to believe the dick that Abby had from father. When you couldn’t think that it could get any worse, it does. That’s why they have to go to Las Vegas in the first place. It was so damn sexy to see Travis defend Abby. I really want one of those please. L

While Beautiful Disaster was the story told from Abby’s point of view, Walking Disaster was Travis’s version of the story. Although some people say that they are almost the same thing, for me the second book was exactly what I needed for closure. It was a hell more delicious to know the story while knowing his irresistible thoughts. Although, it was very tough to see how much he suffered because of Abby. Damn girl! I could be so much better for him!!

“To douchebags!” he said, gesturing to Brad. “And to girls that break your heart,” he bowed his head to me. His eyes lost focus. “And to the absolute fucking horror of losing your best friend because you were stupid enough to fall in love with her.”

Anyway, I think that the epilogue was the final piece that made the whole story arrives to a perfect end. I’m a sucker for happily ever after kind of endings, so it was absolutely perfect for me.

“I don’t know what I’m going to do with you, Trav! I’ve dumped someone for you-twice-I’ve picked up and went to Vegas with you-twice-I’ve literally gone through hell and back, married you and branded myself with your name. I’m running out of ideas to prove to you that I’m yours.”
A small smile graced his lips. “I love it when you say that.”
“That I’m yours?” I asked. I leaned up on the balls of my feet, pressing my lips against his. “I. Am. Yours. Mrs. Travis Maddox. Forever and always.”

All that’s left to say, is that I gladly would be Mrs. Maddox.

“My God you’re sexy,” Travis said, propping his head up with his hand. “The most beautiful woman at Eastern is my girlfriend. That’s insanity.”

 

Travis Maddox es la principal razón que me impulsó a crear el blog.

AMO A TRAVIS.

I’am a hopeless romantic,  y la historia del niño malo (que jamás ha mirado a nadie en serio, que se acuesta con todo el mundo solo por diversión y/o aburrimiento) que se fija en una niña buena (opuesta a lo que él conoce, y que no está interesado en él por cosas de su pasado), donde se da cuenta que es el amor de su vida, su Dove, simplemente me dejó enganchada hasta el punto de leerlo en un día cada uno. Es que es justamente esa sensación de poder que te da el cambiar a alguien solo por el hecho de ser tan importante que valgas más que todo lo que él conocía y estaba acostumbrado. Creo que la mayoría de los libros de romance hoy populares tienen esta idea detrás, basta con mencionar algunos como 50 sombras, Crossfire o PLQQ, lo que me lleva a seguir alimentando esta idea de que los hombres “perfectos” sólo existen en los libros. Y perfectos digo entre comillas porque claramente todos tienen sus defectos, lo que no hace que sean menos irresistibles.

Más allá del galán de Travis, que con sus frases que derretían el corazón de lo románticas y sinceras que eran,  el libro me encantó. Los personajes secundarios principales demostraron ser los excelentes amigos que todos desearíamos tener. Incluso el ambiente universitario me hizo querer volver a vivir esa época, a pesar de haberla terminado hace apenas un par de años, aunque claramente no participé de aquellas fiestas de fraternidad que más de alguna memoria interesante hubiesen generado. Habían además bastantes historias paralelas, las peleas, las Vegas, los otros pretendientes, cumpleaños, fiestas, etc. que hacían la historia principal aún más rica. Asimismo, el que la mujer era la que iba a compartir con la familia del hombre, sintiéndose acogida como en su hogar, a diferencia de la mayoría de los casos, hizo que esto fuese aún más especial.

Lo único que tal vez no me fascinó fue Abby, la protagonista. Había que ser bien idiota para no darse cuenta que Travis estaba enamorado de ella, pero muchas veces insistía en hacerse la desentendida, llegando a un punto en el que ya querías sacudirla para que por fin reaccionara. Sin embargo, cuando ya cedía a lo que claramente era obvio, todo funcionaba perfecto entre ambos, y al final igual la terminaba queriendo.

Mientras Beautiful Disaster estaba desde la perspectiva de Abby, Walking Disaster estaba contado por Travis. Si bien ambas historias son muy parecidas, para mí fue exactamente lo que necesitaba. Más aún, cuando en el epílogo de WD agregan una parte acerca del futuro de ambos, lo que da un cierre excepcional a la historia. Soy una fan de los finales felices, así que para mi fue perfecto.

Travis Maddox definitivamente queda número 1 en mi lista de best book boyfriends.

Responder

