Effortless by S.C. Stephens (Thoughtless, #2)

effortless

I’m absolutely in love with Kellan Kyle.

Although I must admit that this time is him that made me angry the most, not Kiera. (Yeah, I don’t know how that could that happened either, considering how awful she was in the first book)

I REALLY loved Effortless. It left me with a feeling of joy and happiness. Like if finally things worked out. Everything came to a point where everything was in the right place. I literally ended with a silly grin on my face. I adored the love history behind, the way the main characters from friends become lovers, and Kellan being a first time boyfriend. As a present boyfriend, he is awesome. But the problem shows up when the tours come near and once again, Kiera is left alone. Even though I know is the right thing for Kellan to go and chase his dreams by conquering the world of music, I’m kind of selfish and I don’t understand how she could let him go without any resistance. And here it is where I started to accepting Kiera. For her unconditional and constant effort to make the relationship works. Even with all the difficulties, the loneliness, the doubts, the lies and the omissions. Even when their main issue was the lack of confidence, deep down inside she trusted him. Deliciously sweet and romantic.

There were several things that I loved, as well as many others that I hated and made me fight like crazy inside my mind.

The Bad:

– The stupid little secret. It kind of bothered me a lot that at the beginning of their separation Kiera didn’t say anything about Denny being in town. I considered that that was a totally unnecessary lie.
– More lies. I hated that Kellan lied blatantly to Kiera about all the messages, and that he let passed several time without talking about it despite the conspicuous awkwardness. I really don’t understand how she handled the situation that well; I would’ve exploded much earlier.
– Pregnancy test in Kiera’s drawer. The worst part for me was the unfunded excessive reaction of Kellan when he saw the pregnancy test without even asking. How can he make such an abrupt decision without talking things first?? I understand that all pointed to that conclusion, but c’mon! How you give up everything without taking a minute to stop and think about it.
– Last but not least, the inevitable eternal separation. It makes me sad to think that they’re never going to have a normal life, like back at Pete’s. Everything is uphill from here. More tours, more records, more absence, and of course, more women. A woman equals troubles. Sad but true. I think that they deserve a happy relationship without complications, but the life of a rock star just goes all the other way. Knowing that music will always be his top priority is pretty tough.

The Good

– I simply loved all the details and notes that Kellan-my soon to be boyfriend-Kyle left after his departure just to be present. It’s pretty hard to believe that someone is able to think in every possible situation and can anticipate the moves and thoughts of his girlfriend. He is to die for!
– Denny’s return. I thought that he wasn’t going to appear in such a direct way, and it was very nice to know more from him beside the phone calls. I loved that once again he becomes friend with Kiera. It is exactly what you want to happed at the end of a relationship with someone that worth’s it.  Even though i don’t know how realistic is that. It is difficult to believe that people that nice and loving like Denny really exists.
– The reconciliations. The only good of making me suffer with the fights of Kellan and Kiera are the moments when they are back together. I swear that every time that they forgive and love each other again; a part of my heart breaks a little for the romantic and beautiful of all.
– Anna’s baby. I absolutely never imagined that Anna would get pregnant. And let alone that Griffin was going to be a father. I’m very anxious about how this story is going to continue in Reckless.
– Kellan’s family. I don’t know why but I was pretty sure that his secret wasn’t related with having a parallel relationship or cheating Kiera. However I didn’t see his family coming. I think is a twist for the best. No one should be alone in this world, especially Kellan.
– And finally, the symbolic marriage of Kiera and Kellan. I love them. I want to meet them. I want to be like them.

I think that many of the things that happened in this book lead the way for many other stories for Reckless. I can’t wait to start reading it!!

Once more, I reaffirm my unconditional love for Kellan Kyle.

But, if for some reason we’re not closer, if something has gotten between us, please, I’m begging you…don’t give up on me. Stay. Stay with me. Work it out with me. Just don’t leave me…please.

 Any declaration of love for him isn’t enough. He is the ultimate best book boyfriend.

 

 Estoy absolutamente enamorada de Kellan Kyle.

Although debo admitir que en este libro es él quien me hizo enojar más, no Kiera. (Sí, no sé cómo pudo pasar la verdad, considerando el primer libro..)

Realmente amé este libro. Me dejó con una sensación de felicidad, como si por fin funcionaran las cosas. Todo finalmente llegó a un punto en que simplemente las cosas calzaban. Literalmente quedé con una sonrisa de tonta en el rostro… Me encantó la historia de amor detrás, cómo pasaron los protagonistas de ser amantes a ser novios, donde por primera vez Kellan se encuentra desempeñando este rol. Como novio presente es amazing, el problema aparece cuando se tiene que ir. Una vez más, a Kiera la vuelven a dejar por perseguir sus sueños, y aunque en el fondo sé que lo correcto es que vaya y conquiste el mundo musical, soy egoísta y no entiendo cómo lo dejó ir sin poner resistencia alguna. Y es aquí donde comencé a aceptar a Kiera, por su constante esfuerzo incondicional por hacer funcionar la relación, aún con todas las dificultades, la soledad, las dudas, la distancia..todo, porque en el fondo, a pesar de que la confianza es el principal problema de su relación, confiaba en él y en su corazón. Demasiado romántico.

Analizando por partes, hay varias cosas que amé, así como con varias terminé peleando en mi mente.

The Bad:

– Me molestó bastante  que Kiera al comienzo no le dijera que Denny estaba en la ciudad, encontré que fue una mentira totalmente innecesaria en la relación.
– Odié que Kellan le mintiera descaradamente a Kiera acerca de los mensajes y que dejara pasar tiempo a pesar de la incomodidad notoria entre ambos…no sé cómo soportó la verdad, yo lo hubiese enfrentado mucho antes.
– Y, lo peor según yo, que Kellan haya reaccionado de esa forma al ver las pruebas de embarazo sin siquiera preguntar. Cómo puede tomar una decisión tan abrupta sin hablar las cosas?? Entiendo que todo parecía indicar una cosa, pero vamos! cómo dejas todo sin analizarlo un minuto aunque sea??
– La inevitable separación eterna. Me da pena que jamás podrán tener una vida normal, como cuando los D-Bags tocaban en Pete’s…todo va cuesta arriba hacia el éxito, lo que implica más tours más discos y más ausencia…y por supuesto, más mujeres. Mujeres =problemas. Sad but true. Creo que se merecen tener una relación bonita y sin complicaciones, pero la vida de un músico simplemente indica lo contrario…saber que la música siempre será la primera prioridad..fuerte.

The Good

– Simplemente amé los detalles que Kellan-my soon to be boyfriend-Kyle dejó después de su partida para estar presente…es que no puedo creer que alguien piense en cada situación posible para anticipar los movimientos y pensamientos al conocer tanto a su novia..es  para morirse! (de amor)
– La vuelta de Denny. Pensé que no iba a volver a aparecer de forma tan directa, y fue agradable volver a saber de él además de las llamadas telefónicas. Me encantó que volvieran a ser amigos con Kiera. Es como lo que uno quisiera que pasase al terminar una relación bonita, conservando a esa persona valiosa en tu vida..Aunque no sé que tan realista sea, me cuesta creer que existan personas tan buenas como el simpático y amoroso Denny.
– Las reconciliaciones. Lo único bueno de hacerme sufrir con las peleas entre ellos son sus reconciliaciones. Juro que cada vez que se perdonan y vuelven a amarse, una parte de mi corazón se rompe un poco de lo romántico y hermoso de todo.
– Anna’s baby. Jamás esperé que Anna quedara embaraza, y muucho menos que Griffin fuese a ser padre. Estoy ansiosa de seguir esta historia en Reckless.
– La familia de Kellan. No sé por qué sabía que el secreto de Kellan no estaba relacionado con una relación paralela, pero me sorprendió que fuese relacionado con su familia. Creo que es un giro para mejor, nadie debería estar solo en el mundo…
-Finalmente! El matrimonio simbólico de Kellan y Kiera. Los amo. Quiero ser como ellos.

Creo que muchas de las situaciones en Effortless dieron paso a nuevas historias para Reckless, que estoy ansiosa de comenzar cuanto antes!

Una vez más, reafirmo mi amor incondicional por Kellan Kyle.  

“But, if for some reason we’re not closer, if something has gotten between us, please, I’m begging you…don’t give up on me. Stay. Stay with me. Work it out with me. Just don’t leave me…please.”

Ninguna declaración de amor es suficiente. Él es el ultimate best book boyfriend.

Responder

