Point of Retreat by Colleen Hoover

POR

At this point, I don’t know how else to say how great of an author is Colleen and how incredibly awesome are her books. I literally read Point of Retreat in less than three hours. The book reads by itself. I mean it.

I just can’t get enough of Will and Lake’s history. Love. Pure love is the best way I can describe what you get by reading the second part of Slammed. Once again, they felt so real, that I ended up caring for them as much as if they were close friends, or even family.

I’ve been kissing her every day for over a year, and
it somehow still gets better every time.

First of all, I love that this part of their love story was told from Will’s point of view. Like I said in the previous review, I love Will. And now that I know for sure the way he thinks and feels, I think I felt for him all over again. I was so happy that they could be able to continue living their lives after all of what happened. I loved the fact that Kiersten was in their lives. I really adored all the references to the butterfly word. It’s just butterflying genius. I consider that Sherry was somewhat too important for the story to develop, as an alternative motherly figure for all of the boys. I also adored that Eddie and Gavin were an important part of their lives now. Everybody needs at least a very good friend to have support from time to time. However, at the moment I read of Vaughn, I knew she was trouble. Nonetheless, I didn’t think it had something to do with his feelings towards Lake, but because always bad things happens to good people, when you least expect them. And that was exactly what happened.

I was really nervous with their much expected all alone weekend. I don’t even know how they could wait so long for it, but I’m as sure as hell that they really deserved it. Somehow I could feel that something was coming. What I didn’t see coming though, was the fact that Lake would be that much upset for the whole situation. Although, if you think things from her perspective, I would be as much as hurt as she was. Once you start having doubts, they are not so easily to fade away. It was very understandable to think that the only thing that brought them together one day could disappear. So it was in fact important to Lake to make sure of Will’s feelings. However, as we get to experience the whole situation from Will’s perspective, it was too obvious that he wasn’t going anywhere apart from her never again in his life.

It’s the clear headedness behind her voice and the calm reasonable expression in her eyes that rips my heart right out of my chest. She turns to leave and all I can do is let her go. I just let her go.

It truly affected me to see him so hurt. I think that after everything they lived, they had more than enough to suffer. I must admit though that I really enjoyed that we got to see him not in his teacher’s façade, but instead we could see him for he was truly like, just a boy suffering for losing his one true love. I think for every attempt he made to get closer to Lake and got rejected, a piece of my heart broke a little. It was too obvious for me that he really needed her, for all that she was. All I wanted to do on every second of the book was go running to hug him and never let him go. Jeez.

The good part of his suffering, because there’s no suck without sweet, is that he could realize all the people that he had and cared for him. His friends, brothers (Kel included), grandparents and Julia. Julia known from experience how difficult a young relationship can be, so she wanted to give them something that could do some help through tough times.  I think the jar full of stars was perfect for them, and had the exact words they needed to hear on those difficult times. Also, I loved how Sherry was with Will. It was something that he needed in those times of despair. And her video really touched me. One thing that I like about this kind of books is the love as such young age. How amazing is to be able to find your soul mate so early in life. So sad for her that in this case it didn’t last forever, although is better to have known love than never be able to experience it.

I don’t even know if it worth the time talking about the supposedly friend of Will. He and Vaughn literally mean nothing, and I’m happy that they are out of his life. On the other hand, when Gavin told him that he and Eddy had something important to say to them, I quickly imagine that could be about a baby, and I was right. I don’t think is too terrible for them considering how much they love each other, and how much support they have from their loved ones.

Now, getting to the day that changed it all, I can’t express how touched I was with Will’s performance. Those little details really mean the world to most of us girls, so I could put in Lake’s shoes and imagine how moved she must have been. Will is just so perfect. I didn’t expect that he even kept the bills. How could she resist to that kind of apology and love demonstration?

So I’m not about to apologize for loving all these things about you, no matter the reasons or the circumstances behind them.
And no, I don’t need days , or weeks , or months to think about why I love you.
It’s an easy answer for me.
I love you because of you .
Because of
every 
single 
thing 
about you .

Just like the song that says “all the good things come to end”, here comes the car crash. I would be absolutely devastated if something really bad had happened to any of the characters in this story. I half expected Eddie to lose her baby, or Lake to have some serious injury. So I was really happy when everything turned out just great. I just love happy endings. With her recovery I just kept falling harder for Will. He is so gentle and caring, and truly devoted to his love. What I wouldn’t give to meet someone like him. And this love just grew bigger with him going with Caulder, Kel and Kiersten to Dad’s day luncheon. Perfection. He is pure perfection. The top best book lover/boyfriend.

I brush her hair out of her eyes and run my finger along the edge of her face. “I love you, Lake.”
“Say it again,” she says.
I kiss her forehead and repeat what I said. “I love you, Lake.”
“One more time.”
“I.” I kiss her lips. “And love.” I kiss them again. “And you.”
“I love you, too.”

I adore this couple. I love them both. I think they are perfect for each other and their wedding was something that was needed to be done. What I hate, however, is the fact that I can’t get enough of them and their story. And although I have “This Girl” left, I wish I knew more about what happened after their wedding and their lives from that point on. I’m definitely going to have a book hangover after reading this series.

I know how you like to be asked and not told. But I’m not asking you to marry me…I’m telling you to marry me, Lake.. because I can’t live without you.

I butterflying love Will Cooper.

My heart pounds against my chest. Not because I’m nervous. Not even because I want her worse that I’ve ever wanted her before. It’s pounding against my chest because I realize I’ve never been so sure about the rest of my life than I am in this moment. This girl is the rest of my life.

Responder

