This Girl by Colleen Hoover

THIS-GIRL1-673x1024

This Girl was the perfect way to ending this perfect book series. I didn’t think it was possible to fell harder with Will, but I did, once again.

At the beggining, I thought that digging up past memories wasn’t going to do much good to anyone, but reading Will’s stories, and having Lake to analize them during their honeymoon, was the ideal way to do it.

“Wife,” I say, staring straight into her eyes. “Think what you want, but there isn’t a single woman in this whole damn universe that I could ever love like I love you.” 

The hardest part of reading his side of the story is to realize that he suffered at least as much as Layken did. I personally think that he suffered a lot more than she did. He acted on pure selfness on behalf of Julia, putting their emotions before his. He acted on behalf of pure love. That is really what love is about. I doubt there’s someone out there that can love as much as he loves Layken.

Love and hate, despite their polar opposites, are both feelings that are induced by passion. I can handle that. It’s the indifference I don’t know how to process.

I must admit though, that although his intentions were just like a martyr’s one, he did a pretty good job not letting Lake to realize what his true feelings were. So, I definitely could relate to all of Lake’s actions and emotions, because he did act pretty irrational from her POV. It’s almost funny how they couldn’t figure out what the other was feeling about each other.

COMPLETELY. 
Utterly. 
Frozen. 
My eyes drop to the table in front of me when she finishes. Her words are sinking in. 
A boy that I’m seriously, deeply, madly, incredibly, and undeniably in love with. 
In love with?
That’s what she said.
In love with. As in present tense.
She loves me. Layken Cohen loves me. 

About the new things that we discovered with Will’s POV, I never would imagine that he and Gavin were friends before all of what happened. That explains how they apparently became so close in the second book. I really like this friendship because I think Will deserves to have someone who he can trust with everything going on his life. What I really don’t understand or doesn’t go along with the story for me is that Will keeps playing the grown men part but he’s only got 21 years old. I could hardly imagine anyone on that age acting as he acted. I could picture him with at least 23, never less.

When I think about Julia its kind a hate-love relationship what I have with her. I think she is very wise, and had a perfect timing for everything. But what I really don’t share is her opinion of opposing to this love while she was dying. This might sound a little selfish, but I think that whatever is happening to you, you cannot let that interfere with the other goods things in life, like love. Imagine what would have happened if Lake and Will wouldn’t have fought harder for their love. They wouldn’t be together, all because Julia’s words to Will of staying away from her daughter. I think THAT is selfish. Not to mention the one year rule. Sometimes rules just don’t apply to everyone. While 2 weeks might be hurry for some couples, to others, like Lake and Will in my opinion, it’s something that they needed. Like, desperately. Although, I must admit that I love Will even more for sticking to his promise. Boys like him really don’t exist.

I really liked to know all the aspects of how the relationship, or the inexistence of one, developed. Like when Kel told Will the “bad” things about her sister, or how he and Caulder asked him to be with Lake so they could be brothers. And the scene of the fight: OMG. It’s hard to imagine that he acted like that for jealously. I mean, he didn’t thought about any of the consequences that could came along by hitting a student. And the most important part is that he didn’t even get mad at Lake even though he thought that she was kissing him back. He took care of her after being hit, not thinking a bit about himself and he was feeling. His love for her is truly unconditional.

She deserves to be kissed by someone who loves her. Someone who spends every waking moment trying to do everything right by her. Someone who would rather die than see her hurt. She doesn’t deserve to be kissed by anyone other than me.

And the best part of this book: Wil. I’m absolutely in love with Will. I just think that he is unique. I don’t really know if there is someone so passionate and romantic like he is. I just adore the way he fell in love with Layken, from the very first moment he saw her. I can’t imagine anything more beautiful than that. The way that he talked and thought about her, I would kill for someone to think of me like that. I love how deeply in love he is. I think they are perfect for each other, and I love the fact that they wait to have a kid of their own. Not like most of the book couples that get married and a little after they get pregnant. Three years are more than enough to enjoy their lives as a couple and begin to enjoy life with kids by expanding their family.

She doesn’t speak, but she doesn’t have to. I know in these moments, when it’s just her and me and nothing else, that she truly, soul-deep loves me.

With Slammed, Point of Retreat and This Girl, I have found my best book boyfriend, and the best book girl. They are going to be hard to defeat and I will definitely going to miss them. I already am.

She rolls her eyes. ‘Will, this date is going to be my suck for the day if you don’t become a little more talkative.’
I laugh. ‘Yes, we’re going to Club N9NE. Yes, we’re going to dinner first. Yes, I wrote a slam for you. Yes, we’re leaving the club early so we can go back to my house and hardcore make out in the dark.’
‘You just became my sweet,’ she says.

One thing I know for sure, this is the best love story I have ever read.

If I took every romantic poem, every book, every song, and every movie I’ve ever read, heard or seen and extracted the breathtaking moments, somehow bottling them up, they would pale in comparison to this moment.

This moment is incomparable.

 

Responder

