Wait for You by J. Lynn

WaitforYou-PBCOMP1

Wait for you is truly amazing. All I can think of right now is how much I loved it, and how deeply in love I am with Cam.

This book has everything: love, passion, sex, personal growth, self- improvement, friendship and many more. It made me laugh, dream and almost cried, but in the end it was all worth it.

“I want to be here with you, Avery. You don’t have to worry about impressing me or wowing me. You’ve already done that.”

The story begins like it was expected. Hot popular guy interested in the normal shy new girl in town/university. However, what I didn’t see coming was the whole amazing story behind each character.

At the beginning, you could suspect what had happened to Avery, but that wasn’t enough for me to understand how she treated Cam. I just don’t get it, why girls do things in the opposite way that we really want to do? I mean, that’s exactly how Avery acted.  Even if she only wanted a friend, an unbelievable hot and awesome one, she just refused the idea of accepting him, being insufferable annoying most of the times. I know that maybe the fact that she doesn’t treat him the same way all girls do is the same reason why he is interested on her, in real life I seriously doubt that someone like him would actually accept that kind of treatment from a woman.

“Don’t you have anyone else to bother?”
“There are a shit ton of people that I could reward with my presence, but I chose you.”

That’s one of the many reasons why Cam is so perfect. He was absolutely adorable with her. When he brought for her to class his cookies or when they were seeing the stars. However, that wasn’t enough for Avery. There were many times when I thought that she was straight stupid. If she didn’t want to lose Cam, why would she continue rejecting him? It didn’t make any sense to me. I mean, she obviously did have some feelings for him, but I didn’t understand what did she had that made her feel so safe about the hot god still be around even with her constant rejection. Nonetheless, everything made sense when she started to explain how was for her after being raped. I just couldn’t believe what awful parents she had, and how they did exactly the opposite things that a parent is supposed to do in a case like that. She didn’t really have any support during those hard times, so I think I could relate to her with being just so afraid of being rejected after all of what happened.

“My brain was telling me this was a bad idea and I told my brain to shut the fuck up, because it rarely told me anything helpful.”

Definitely, what I like the most about this book is Cam. Cameron Hamilton, a man perfect in all ways. He is literally a dream come true. The hot popular guy that isn’t like he’s supposed to be. He is nice and sweet, and with a perfect sense of humor. I really love a man with that kind of humor. And his eyes…I can imagine those perfect blue eyes. I wish I could lose myself in them like Avery did. When I tried to think of any flaw of him, I came up with none. There is nothing I could think of that makes him less desirable in any way. He is an awesome wonderful sexy beautiful men and he knows it. And the best part is, just like he said, that he isn’t a good boy, he is good just when he is with her, which makes him the perfect boyfriend and everything a girl dreams of. What I wouldn’t give to have Cam interested in me and be the center of his endless displays of affection.

“Tell me what you want, sweetheart … Anything. And I’ll do it.”

I laugh with every joke he said, and love him even more with the lovely words that he often said to Avery. I really loved their dynamic when she wasn’t rejecting him. I loved that he cooked breakfast for her on Sundays, and that they hanged together just like any friends would. I love that he never gave up on trying going on a date with her, even if she made it almost impossible. I adore how he talked about himself and how thoughtful she was with her. I love the fact that he has a tortoise as a pet, and he called it Raphael. I love the way he uses his cap, and how I imagine his hair hanging around his face. I love how he says sweetheart and every single word he pronounces. OMG, I really love everything that involves him.

“You’re a good guy, Cam.”
“No, I’m not.” He exhaled deeply and his breath was warm against my cheek. “I’m only good with you.”

I have to admit that I was gladly surprised when Avery accepted to go on a date, and even more when they went to his parent’s house later on. I really didn’t expect to everything change so dramatically after all the good time they spent with his perfect wonderful family. I think she absolutely overreacted. I know how terribly ashamed she must have been after Cam saw her scar. But you just can’t run away from people like that, especially if it is someone so special and perfect like he is. So, when he rejected her after she tried contacted him to thank for taking care of her while she was sick, I was kind of happy. Not for her being rejected, but instead because she realized that you can’t act like that and not expect to have any consequences. If you hurt someone, they aren’t going to be forever around. Except if it is Cam. Truth be told, in real life, there is no one like him. Too bad for the rest of us. 

What I truly liked about this story is that you could actually see how Avery was evolving trough the book. I really ended up suffering with all her loneliness and sadness. It wasn’t her fault to have lived through something as hard as that, so you couldn’t much blame her for reacting the way she did. That’s the reason why I was so happy when they finally get together. I loved the drunk scene, and how, once again, Cam was the hero of the situation. (Did I mention I’m in love with Cam?)

“While the idea of taking you right now, against the wall, is enough to make me lose control, I want you to know that I’m serious. You’re not a hook up. You’re not a friend with benefits. You’re more than that to me.”
I closed my eyes, breathing heavily. “Well, that was…really sort of perfect.”
“I’m really sort of perfect … Everyone else knows that. You’re just a little slow on the uptake.”

 I was absolutely pleased when I read about the two of them as a couple. However, I didn’t expect to be so hard for Avery to open up to Cam. One could think that love was enough for her to tell her story, but no, it was not. Even when he told her what he did, that, by the way, I reacted the same way she did, supporting him because someone was hurting his sister, she didn’t gave up and kept her mouth quiet. I’m really glad that she finally got some nerve and begins the healing process. It was good for her; something she really needed started to do.

“I want you, Cam.”
“You have me,” he groaned. “You so fucking have me.”

Actually, that was one of my favorite parts of the book. When she finally starts to realize what she was doing all these years. She was just surviving and was not a survivor. I think that the reason why she couldn’t stop lying was because that’s was she actually did all those five years, where she couldn’t trust anyone, having all the right reasons not for doing it. She needed to start living her life. With Cam, of course. His reconciliation was perfect to me. I love how she faces her fear, and conquers it, by telling all the truth to his loved one and how Cam accepts her apology almost immediately. I love them when they are together, and their perfect dynamic on the sex scenes. I really liked how you could almost feel the passion that was going on between them. And I was gladly pleased to see that even if you go through something as awful as it happened to Avery, it doesn’t mean that you can’t start living again, and enjoy your life with the ones you love the most.

“As long as the sun’s shining, shit can’t be that bad.”

I never read a book from J Armentrout before Wait for you, but I was gratefully surprised. I think she is an excellent author that created an inspiring captivating story between the man of my dreams and a beautiful girl that you end up admiring. I gave this book 10 of 5 stars, and one additional for every time Cam appears in the scene. So, thank you destiny for presenting me the ultimate best book boyfriend.

“I’m serious about you, Avery. If you want me for real, you have me.”

Responder

