Tangled by Emma Chase (Tangled, #1)

 

tangled-new-659x1024 (1)

This book was all I was asking for: perfection. It was pure fun and humor mixed with romance and lust. Once I started reading it, I literally couldn’t put it down. If you liked Drew as much as I did, you will know what I mean.

It was a delightful pleasure to be inside Drew Evans’s mind. He just takes the sexiness to a whole new level. I loved every single word that he said. I laughed with him, loved and hated him at the same time. Although most part I was equally laughing and loving him.

For God’s sake, don’t let her watch Cinderella. What kind of example is that? A mindless twit who can’t even remember where she left her damn shoe, so she has to wait for some douchebag in tights to bring it to her? Give me a frigging break!

Drew had me at page 1. He is God’s gift to women. He is a sexy, gorgeous and intelligent business man that gets what he wants. And by that I mean not only that he is very successful in life but also that he is a man slut. Although according to him, that doesn’t makes him a bad person because he speaks with the truth. And that’s ok, because he really is direct and honest about what he thinks and what he wants, at least to us the readers. It isn’t any surprise then that every single woman on earth wanted to sleep with him, or at least to be around him. He didn’t know what was like to chase a woman because he literally had tons waiting in line.

So, if you think I’m arrogant? Selfish? Spoiled? You’re probably right. But don’t hold it against me. It’s not my fault. I am a product of how I was raised.

That’s when Katherine Brooks appears in his life. Kate is really one of a kind type of girl to make Drew’s world go upside down.  She is so not the typical girl we are used to see. She knows what she wants to do with her life, and is not afraid of fighting for it. When things get complicated, she doesn’t run away, she faces it and continues living. I think I’ve just understood why Drew wants Mackenzie to be like her when she grows up. She is truly an example to follow.

Being that close to each other, by working in the same company, their attraction was something impending. What I totally didn’t see coming was the fact that Drew’s father wanted them to fight for their new potential client. I was completely supporting Drew on that one. I mean, she only had two weeks working at the place, how could you do something like that to your son? I know that his idea was for them to work together and combine their own strengths. But c’mon! I would be totally devastated if my father would do something like that to me, a big crush to my ego and pride. Not saying that there’s something good in that, just saying the way that it is. That being explained, I so did not expected to see Drew’s interest on Kate to become a serious rivalry and competition. I think that what made things more interesting and made me love every second of their office fights was the fact that she was up to the challenge. It was hilarious how they fought and tried to ruin each other (all under the limits of what’s legal). How they started arriving earlier, or how they stole the books from the company’s library so the other couldn’t have them. However, what I truly wasn’t expecting and really shocked me was what happened in the meeting with the client. I just couldn’t believe what I was reading, how a pig men could be! But this part was vital to show us the true essence of Drew. I think that with his reaction you could see immediately what he is about. That despite his arrogance and ass-wholeness he has a tender heart, capable of loving a woman and makes her feel like the most special person in the world. That no matter what happens in business, if you care for someone, nothing else matters, not even a big juicy contract with some important guy.

I really liked the dynamic that started between them since that day, when they were partners and colleagues in good terms. But what I like the most was when they could no longer restrain their fatal attraction. They were like ticking bombs ready to explode, so their encounter was explosive. However, Kate as being as focus as she is, had to restrain herself and pretend that nothing happened. I really admire her for that. It must have been very difficult to be around Drew and have to be in control. Or at least pretending to be.

The company’s party was quite interesting, to say the least. It was there where Drew finally faces his reality, not having someone to share those special moments when everyone around him happily shares them. So, you could imagine what he had to do, ruin Kate’s happiness. What he told Billy was truly a dirty trick. He had no right to tell him that and to make things worse for Kate. I mean, he even doesn’t had a guilty conscience as she is, so why being that mean. Well, I kind of forget that is Drew what we are talking about in here.

I really wanted Drew to be with Kate, but that didn’t make it less sad the fact that she had to broke up with Billy. I know that they weren’t the same people as how they were at the beginning, but it is so painful to leave behind 10 years of your life just like that. Kate must have been really hurt, so I can definitely picture her behind the desk and being miserable about herself. At least until her encounter with Drew. When they could finally be together, on that beautiful weekend, they were perfection. I love them as a couple, that’s the truth. They complement themselves at every level, and I couldn’t wait to see them officially like that.

“God! Oh God!”
I smile as I pick up the pace, “God’s not the one fucking you, baby.”
Sure, I’m in love, but this is still me here.
“Drew…Drew…yes…Drew!”
Much better.”

Nonetheless, Billy had to show up and make Drew’s confidence go to hell, and in this time, he really screwed it up. It was so obvious that Kate didn´t return with Billy, but Drew had to open his mouth and let his pride take care of whole the scene. I can’t imagine how confusing that must have been to Kate, and how much she must have suffered. To sacrifice a long term relationship to be with this passionate guy, but to realize that he is still a ladies’ man because of what he just have said. I mean, I know that Kate could have done something before talking to Billy to reassure that she was going stay with Drew, but at least he could have waited to see what she had to say. But apparently, men don’t have the ability of patience and he had to gloriously send it all to hell. Literally.

And now we get to the part where the story started, with a Drew totally devastated by what he likes to refer as the flu. It is kind of nice to see what a girl can cause in a man’s life, especially if we are talking about him. However, after one week it got to the point where it was just alarming. I mean, if Alexandra, a.k.a The Bitch wouldn’t have shown with Matthew in his apartment, he would’ve stay just like that, chocked by the trash and the tower of pizza boxes.

The comeback to get to Kate was splendid and a little surprising, although I didn’t expect any less. I love how he finally has to fight for something in his life, something that truly worth’s it. He really did make an effort by planning the whole thing, but still that doesn’t erase the fact that he has zero credibility of what he is trying to prove. I must admit that I really enjoyed the way he treated Kate when they were rivals and all the tricks that he did. No one said war is fair. But unfortunately, that set a precedent that made him so hard to believe after everything he has said. I don’t really know how Kate could be strong and remain indifferent after all his intents. I think I would’ve give up to his charms sooner. I mean, after the band, flowers, balloons, The Bitch and Mackenzie, and Sister B; he really did make an effort.

The Saturday dinner was the perfect climax for me. I didn’t really imagined what the final surprise could be, but I must say that I was gladly surprised. To merge his special place so it could welcome her was the only thing that could truly prove that he wanted her for long. I just love them and I can’t wait to read of their life together in the next books of the series.

You’re brilliant and funny. You’re protective and caring. You shine so bright, Drew. Everything you do—how you think, the things you say, the way you move—it’s…blinding. I feel…lucky, just being close to you.

 I think I have the obligation of doing a little mention of the world that existed outside Kate and Drew. The secondary characters were memorable, they were somewhat necessary but the main story was so good that the author didn’t really need to develop their stories in order to distract us from the central story. Drew’s friends were hilarious, and The Bitch was the necessary female touch in his life. Mackenzie was his savior, I loved his bad words jar, and Delores was the top of the cake. Billy was something that I couldn’t decipher though. I know he has supported Kate throughout all her difficult times, but that doesn’t explains why he treats her the way he did when he picked her up at the bar. That makes us think if he treated her like that the whole time. However, in terms of love nothing is written.

Emma Chase was really a revelation. Tangled is a 5 starts must read. It has the best male point of view that I have read so far. It’s fun, addictive and excellent played off.  I’m in love with DAK, and with his relationship with Kate. They are meant to be with each other.

 Assume nothing. Even if you think you know everything. Even if you’re sure that you’re right. Get confirmation. That whole “ass” cliché about assuming? It’s right on the money. And if you’re not careful, it could end up costing you the best thing that’s ever going to happen to you. And another thing—don’t get too comfortable. Take chances. Don’t be afraid to lay it on the line. Even if you’re happy. Even if you think life is happy. Even if you think life is freaking perfect.

 

Responder

