Divergent by Veronica Roth

divergent

I must admit that despite the fact that I purchased the book long before the movie, it didn’t happen in the way that I expected. And once reading the book after seeing the movie, I can only say thank you God for books. And for Theo James.

Literally, the last 20 books I have read were all new adult/romance kind of type, that, by the way, I truly love. However, I couldn’t predict that a book like this would be so refreshing.  I really loved Divergent. The story, the characters, how the story was developing, everything was perfect. It had everything I expected in a book, and I even dare to say it has more. The truth is that once started, I couldn’t put it down. For real.

I really want to talk only about the book, but I keep finding myself making comparisons in my mind with the movie. So, I think it’s going to be a little confusing, but I will try my best.

First of all, I have to say that the book is a thousand times better than the movie. Although the movie established an idea of what Divergent would be like, it wasn’t even close. I mean, I really appreciate the fact of giving me thoughts about random/not so random things, like how the clothes of the characters could be, or the scenarios like the Pit or the city would be like, but the book was so much more intense, and in every way you can imagine. However, I have to concede that the two main characters were a perfect fit for me. I can’t imagine someone better than the perfection made flesh of Theo James. And I also happen to like very much Shailene, so I can’t complain at all. Like I said, the main difference for me is that you could actually live through the intensity of the book, and that you end up feeling happy or sad or confused just like the way Tris is feeling. And for me that is the purpose of a good book, to make you feel part of it. It was a total journey.

The story was a new for me, but in a good way. It was fun to imagine the society in the clever way that Veronica presented it. Would it be that hard to divide people into five very well defined groups and reach the prosperity in that way? It truly gives us some serious thought to do. I kept asking myself through the book in which faction I would have belonged, and the answer is a mix between Candor and Erudite. Not like Tris at all, and that is why I think I like her so much. If I could chose I would be in Dauntless, at least with their initial ideals, not the new ones.

“We believe in ordinary acts of bravery, in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another.”

I really like Beatrice. She is a strong female leader, with the perfect amount of selfness and boldness. I like that despite her position of constant danger for being Divergent, she wanted the world to see her tough, even after all the things that the others did to her, like Peter and the initiates. She was confident on her true self, and that is all that matters.

“I have a theory that selflessness and bravery aren’t all that different.”

And Four, he was a serious enigma at first to me. I couldn’t understand the change from being their rude tutor from being in love with Tris. However, once I found myself discovering all his loving side, I was deeply in love. Anyway, I have to admit that this was in part because I was picturing Theo in Four’s person. Their encounters were the perfect amount of love that the book needed, and I really enjoyed every second of them.

“Then I realize what it is. It’s him. Something about him makes me feel like I am about to fall. Or turn to liquid. Or burst into flames.”

To amount all the things that happen in Divergent, I’m going to make a list.

What I loved

– Four. So sexy, so loving, so tender, so caring. Awww I’m swooning over him. He is so protective but doesn’t underestimate the strength inside of her. He trusts her fears in Tris even when they are something so personal like the situation with his father. He has the perfect combination to be like the best book boyfriend. I really love him.

“I might be in love with you.” He smiles a little. “I’m waiting until I’m sure to tell you, though.”

– The unconditional family support. I think that for Tris’s parents must have been truly hard to lose both of your children in public the same day, but deep down they were proud of them no matter what they chose. And that’s true love.
– Friends. I really liked Cristina’s character. I think it was just what Tris needed, a perfect fit for her. Although I had to mention that the girl that played her in the movie didn’t fit for me. I pictured her more strong and taller. I don’t know why they changed her.
– The dauntless faction. I love the way they live life, wild and free. I like how carefree they are, like so in control but so loose. Although this one is very personal because it’s the exact opposite of how I am. I wish I could jump to buildings from moving trains, and being the strong and fierce type of girl. Sadly I’m not.
– Dauntless training. I’m putting it in here not because I like the fights and being faced to my worst fears, but instead because I think they were very clever. To be able to manage your fears, face them, is the key to everything. Like the quote that says that we are confined only by the wall we build ourselves. During the fights I really suffered tough. I just consider that there are better ways of learning how to fight than throwing you to the sharks without even knowing how to swim.

“Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear, and how to be free from it.” 

– Divergents. The idea of allowing them to exist is marvelous. I think that deep down is a powerful metaphor of the incapacity of the human to accept everything out of the standards defined. Potent.

 “I feel like someone breathed new air into my lungs. I am not Abnegation. I am not Dauntless. 
I am Divergent.” 

What I hated

-Eric. Damn bastard. I think his “teaching” approach was terrible. I really didn’t understand how he was in the position he had, although all made sense eventually. I definitely wanted to kill him when he saw Four and though he was under de influence of the Erudite’s creation. I wish he had killed him. Sorry I’m not sorry.
– Peter and his friends. This one actually shocked me more than causing me hate. I know that the terror of being factionless is worse than death, but you just can’t make you that desperate to go and stab someone in the eye because he is better than you, or kill someone in the dark so you could obtain what you want. I mean, how could you live with that? I just couldn’t, although there is not only good in this world. In the movie Peter didn’t seemed so cruel like he was in the book. That’s why I think it shocked me so much. I wish they had included that scene in the movie.
– Erudite’s headmasters. The effects of having power are impressive, and the ones related to wanting have more power are even worse. To kill all the members of a faction just because you want to rule the world doesn’t seem sane at all. C’mom, Jeanine supposed to be smart, how smart is to simply eliminate your enemy? I think there are better ways than that, at least human ways.
– Tris’s parents death. Once her mother died I truly didn’t expected her father would also die. I don’t see the reason why she had to be left practically alone in the world. And they were such good people! It was sad, very sad.
– Will’s death. I have the feeling that Tris is going to find Christina in the next book (I really hope that happens) and I don’t want to read the scene when she finds out that her boyfriend was killed by her friend, even though it was a matter of life and death, it just isn’t something easy to process.

Okay, at this point, I really think that I could be always talking endlessly about this book and what caused me, but I really want to finish this review. So, all that’s left to say is that I’m currently in love with this series, and I cannot wait to read the next books. In fact, today I just bought the Divergent Series Ultimate Four-Book Box Set. I’m so happy about it!! This time they are definitely coming first than the movies. Thank you Veronica, you are awesome!

 

Responder

