Dirty Red by Tarryn Fisher (Love Me With Lies, #2)

dirty red

I never thought I would enjoy this book as much as I did. To read the thoughts of a manipulative, heartless and vindictive viper was way more interesting than I’d imaged. Although I found myself enjoying all the things that she hated and argued about. I loved the pleasure I got when things didn’t work out the way she wanted to. I still don’t like her, she was much worse than I could possibly imagine.

“I knew he never loved me like he loved her, but I wanted him anyway. I knew his love for me was conditional, but I wanted him anyway. I knew I was second choice, but I wanted him anyway. ”

It was pretty sad to see the world through Leah’s eyes. She was miserable. Always so unhappy and complaining about anything and everything. I hated how shallow she was. Everything disgusted her, the people, places and things. Though the worst part for me was the way she felt about her own child. It was unbelievably terrible. Estella was only a means to an end. It shocked me how she kept forgetting her existence. How could you forget about someone you carried inside you for nine months? It was so hard and painful to see.

“You said you would never hurt me.”
His eyes are frigid. “That was before you fucked with my daughter.”

Her ability to ignore what was really going on inside Caleb’s head made me sick. How could she desire him when it was obvious that Olivia still rocked his world? I know that she wanted to have him no matter what. But still, that way she was obsessed with him it was too much. She lived thinking about Olivia. And she should have, because Caleb it wasn’t hers. Olivia still had his heart.

“That was the absolute worst thing about love; no matter how hard you tried, you could never forget the person who had your heart.”

At first I blamed Caleb for giving Leah all the wrong signals. To making her believe that he actually liked her. But I never dimensioned how truly broken their relationship was. I thought they had good times. However, when you get to know more about their past, about all the fights and times Caleb wanted to get a divorce, it gets very weird. Leah’s thoughts weren’t true. The more I read the less they made sense. She disguises their relationship thinking is a happy one, while Caleb only wanted to get out. It was his fault though that he didn’t escape sooner from it.

“I have done a number of things to keep this man. I have lied and cheated. I have been sexy and meek, fierce and vulnerable. I have been everything but myself.”

After reading Dirty Red all I can say is that I’m glad about their imminent divorce. She doesn’t deserve him. There’s no true love in there, only manipulation and lies. I will say that Leah’s history is sad, though I couldn’t feel bad for her. She was so mean that I didn’t care. The only thing that really surprised me was what happened to her sister, Courtney. She always seemed so nice, I wouldn’t have expected her to end the way she did. I can’t believe that she actually was alone in that place. And that Leah never went to see her, only taking care about her own stupid and shallow life. She is a waste of human life.

I would’ve liked though to see more of Caleb and Olivia in this book. Anyway, in Thief I’m hoping to finally find a happy ending for Caleb and Olivia. They have to end up together! Or is it naïve to even dream about it?

“When they’re together, it’s like putting a hurricane and a tornado in the same room – you can feel the tension. I didn’t believe in the cliche of soul mates until I saw them together.”

Responder

